Return to Headlines

District Hosts 53rd Annual Elementary Spelling Bee

The Martin County School District held its 53rd annual Lillian A. Dassori Elementary Spelling Bee on Thursday, January 10, at Jensen Beach High School.  WPTV anchor Ashleigh Walters served as the enunciator for this year’s event, which saw students from each local elementary school competing for the chance to win the prestigious Lillian A. Dassori Spelling Bee award. Title I Coordinator Debra George of the Martin County School District, Jean Laws-Scott of FPL and the Honorable Kathleen Roberts of the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit served as judges in this year's competition.


Named after Lillian A. Dassori, a founding member and charter president of the Soroptomist International of Stuart, the bee provides Martin County’s youngest students with an opportunity to practice their spelling and public speaking skills while also increasing their vocabularies.  


This year’s bee went an unprecedented 20 rounds, with fourth-grader Nina Goyal of Palm City Elementary School and fifth-grader Varun Singh of Pinewood Elementary School being declared co-winners.  Both students will advance to the regional competition with the hopes of ultimately competing at the Scripps National Spelling Bee in May.


“The Lillian A. Dassori Elementary Spelling Bee is always one of the highlights of the school year in Martin County,” Superintendent Laurie J. Gaylord shared. “We know that literacy and students’ command of language is so important, and it’s always a joy to watch our youngest learners demonstrate their abilities during the spelling bee.”


The District would like to congratulate all of this year’s participants, with a special kudos going out to this year’s winners:


12th place – Claire Chagnon, J.D. Parker School of Technology
11th place – Xavier Rosado, Warfield Elementary School
10th place – Aiden Wintercorn, J.D. Parker School of Technology
9th place – Finnegan May, Hobe Sound Elementary School
8th place – Mallory Goddard, Crystal Lake Elementary School
7th place – Ana Rodriguez- Castell, Port Salerno Elementary School
6th place – Lucy Mayer, Felix A. Williams Elementary School
5th place – Arnav Vivek, Pinewood Elementary School
4th place – Aiden Martinez, Palm City Elementary School
3rd place – Arnav Palmer, Palm City Elementary School
1st place (tie) – Nina Goyal, Palm City Elementary School
1st place (tie) – Varun Singh, Pinewood Elementary School