Return to Headlines

South Fork High School Student Named National Merit Scholarship Winner

South Fork High School Student Named National Merit Scholarship Winner:

     The National Merit Scholarship Corporation released the names of the first group of winners in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Tarun Neelavannan, a senior at South Fork High School, is 1 of 28 winners of the 2019 National Merit Scholarship in the state of Florida. Tarun’s probable career field is Industrial Engineering and he won the NATIONAL MERIT NEXTERA ENERGY, INC. SCHOLARSHIP.

      NextEra Energy, Inc. is nationally known as a high quality, efficient, and customer-driven organization focused on energy-related products and services. With a growing presence in more than 18 states, it is widely recognized as one of the country's premier power companies. Providing Merit Scholarship awards to qualifying children of employees further demonstrates the company's continued support of education by recognizing the accomplishments of these outstanding students.

    More than 1.6 million students in approximately 22,000 high schools throughout the nation entered the 2019 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Approximately 16,000 students were selected as semifinalists in this year's competition.

    Around 15,000 semifinalists were given notice by mail that they had advanced and were named finalists. High School Principals were also notified and a certificate was given to each finalist at their respective schools. Winners were selected from the group of students who advanced to the finalist level in the competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.

Congratulations Tarun on this amazing accomplishment!