School Choice

Applications for the 2024-2025 school year open on March 1st!

Any applications submitted before March 1st WILL NOT be considered for the 2024-2025 school year.

2024-2025 School Choice Options

All Martin County School District schools are 2024/2025 Controlled Open Enrollment (COE) schools, which means they are:

  • Eligible to any Martin County resident as well as residents of any Florida county.

  • No annual renewal is needed. If a student's application is approved, he/she may continue attending the chosen school through the highest grade level offered on the campus.

  • The application window closes on March 31, 2024.

Controlled Open Enrollment (COE) Schools

  • Elementary Schools Bessey Creek, Citrus Grove, Crystal Lake, Felix A. Williams, Hobe Sound, JD Parker, Jensen Beach, Palm City, Port Salerno, Pinewood, SeaWind and Warfield

  • Middle Schools:  Dr. David L. Anderson, Hidden Oaks, Indiantown, Murray, and Stuart

  • High Schools:  Jensen Beach High School, Martin County High School, and South Fork High School

Families must apply via the FOCUS Parent Portal. Complete instructions are included below.


The School Choice online application must be completed through your FOCUS Parent Portal (Forms Summary).

Click here for the comprehensive instructions on how to access the FOCUS Parent Portal or create a new account.

Click on Forms Summary

Choice form

DISCLAIMER: We are starting to process our data for School Choice/COE. You may see # of Changes Approved in your FOCUS Parent Portal Account. This indicates that data within the form is being evaluated. This does not mean your application has been approved. You will be contacted via email once the decision has been made.

not approved

Controlled Open Enrollment

Per FS 1002.31  and School Board Policy 5121, parents of students from any school district in the state that are not subject to a current expulsion or suspension can apply for Controlled Open Enrollment to any public, or charter school, that has not reached capacity in the district.  Martin County School District school capacities are determined using the Florida Inventory of School Houses and those identified with less than 75% capacity are eligible for COE. Martin County residents are given priority access to available seats.

COE Schools for the 2024-2025 School Year

Eligible to any In-County or Out-of-county resident




Bessey Creek Elementary

Crystal Lake Elementary

Citrus Grove Elementary

Felix A. Williams Elementary

Hobe Sound Elementary

JD Parker Elementary

Jensen Beach Elementary

Palm City Elementary

Pinewood Elementary

Port Salerno Elementary

SeaWind Elementary

Warfield Elementary

Anderson Middle

Hidden Oaks Middle

Indiantown Middle

Murray Middle

Stuart Middle

Jensen Beach High School

Martin County High School

South Fork High School

Parents must submit an online application during March for consideration. They may list up to three school options in order of preference (1st, 2nd and 3rd choice) if applicable. Placements are based on seats available. If more applications are received than seats available, the selection will be made through a random number lottery process. Any request denied due to capacity will be monitored on a waitlist and processed as seats become available.

Email notifications to parents will go out beginning the second week in April.

If the COE application is approved, the student may remain at the COE school until they complete the highest grade level, pending they do not present with poor attendance, disciplinary problems, or it is revealed that information was falsified in the application.


Transportation will not be provided for students assigned through COE or School Choice and is the parent's responsibility.


A previously approved COE or School Choice request can be rescinded due to poor attendance, disciplinary problems, or if any information in the application is falsified.

Additionally, School Choice requests may be rescinded if a school becomes overcrowded.

If a student is at a high school on School Choice through a signature program, they must remain in the program or enroll at their home zoned school at the beginning of the next quarter.

Office of Innovation & Choice
1939 SE Federal Highway

Stuart, FL 34994 
Phone: (772) 219-1200 ext. 30411